NAAIP Advertisement
NAAIP Advertisement

DUI Attorney in Surprise Arizona

As a Surprise criminal defense lawyer, we help those that have been charged with an extreme DUI (driving under the influence to the extreme) in Surprise AZ. ARS 28-1381 makes it illegal for a person to drive under the influence of alcohol or any drug (including prescription drugs), or to have an alcohol level of .08 or more within 2 hours of driving. For those driving a commercial vehicle with a commercial license, it is illegal to have an alcohol level of .04 of more. Driving is defined as having actual physical control of a vehicle.

Penalties

Driving under the influence (DUI) is an offense which can vary in its severity. Therefore, in the city of Surprise Arizona, the severity of the charge you may face is reflective of this. If you are deemed to be under the influence, and your driving is impaired to even the slightest degree, then you will most likely be charged with a class 1 misdemeanor. This charge can incur up to six months in jail or a fine up to $2,500. Dependent on more specific factors of your particular offense, such as blood alcohol level, you may face a maximum of 10 days in jail, a $250 fine, and/or may be court ordered to serve community restitution. There may also further fees incurred by the defendant during the judicial process. If you re-offend within 84 months of your original DUI offense, you will be liable to spend up to 90 days in jail, with a minimum of 30 days served consecutively, face a minimum fine of $500, and shall be court ordered to partake a minimum of 30 hours of community restitution. You may also have your driver's license revoked for a year, as well as have any vehicle you drive fitted with an ignition interlock system that tests your sobriety before allowing the vehicle to start. Finally, the state of Arizona will require you to attend and pass a traffic survival school course.

Drivers License Suspension & Revocation

In Surprise AZ, a refusal to submit to a blood or breath test triggers the automatic suspension of your driving privileges for 12 months. You do, however, have a short period of time to request a hearing before the Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT or MVD) where you can argue your case. This hearing is a different proceeding and separate from your DUI charge, but can sometimes have a significant impact on your DUI case itself. For that reason, it is important that you contact your Surprise DUI attorney at Canyon State Law as soon as possible after you are stopped to ensure that ALL your rights are protected.

See How We Can Help

At Canyon State Law, it's our mission to help those that have been charged with a misdemeanor in Arizona. Our criminal defense attorneys would love to sit down or discuss by telephone your options if you or a loved one has been charged with an extreme DUI in Surprise. Contact our law firm office in Surprise AZ for your complimentary legal consultation. Canyon State Law - Surprise 15331 W Bell Rd Ste 212 Surprise, AZ 85374 (623) 404-4702

Law Firm Offices throughout Arizona

Mesa, AZ | Gilbert, AZ | Surprise, AZ | Peoria, AZ | Chandler, AZ

Click on the banners below to check out these great sites »


1841260851Arizona Misdemeanor Attorney.jpg

NAAIP Advertisement

Contact Us Today

Name *

Phone *

Email *

Comment

  

Contact:
Office: 4809002220
Agency Hours:
Weekdays: 9:00am - 7:00pm
Weekends: By appointment